Unto Us a Child is Born

Hebrews 4:12 “For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.”

It’s that time of year… the celebration of the Christ child, born of a virgin. I’m not kidding when I say there is no better time of year. I LOVE getting to reflect on the Nativity story. I love the verse in Hebrews about the word of God being alive and powerful. I have heard the story if the Christ child through my whole life and even got to play the role of the angel at one of our family Christmas parties, but each time I revisit the birth of Christ I am awestruck. The birth of Jesus and the fulfillment of prophecy is so overwhelming to me. I am captivated by the love of God the Father through the miracle of the birth of His Son. To me, it’s like the beginning of a love story (even though chronologically it’s wayyy off). I love the heart of Mary and marvel at her strength and obedience. It wasn’t until after I became a mother that I  found myself trying to relate to her. When I was a young girl she seemed like a goody two shoes, perfectly proper and obedient. Now I see her as a warrior woman of great faith. Faith greater than any trial she faced and any fear she had. Imagine, hearing stories of a deliverer – the Savior of all, since your youth and then one day an angel comes to you proclaiming that YOU are the vessel through which the Messiah will enter the world. BOOM!! Mind blown. She obviously had no fear even though in that day she could’ve been killed for bearing a child out of wedlock. (side note: why is it called that? Wedlock??) I wonder what Mary went through Mary’s mind as she was experiencing all the crazy pregnancy symptoms. Or did she not have to struggle with morning sickness while bearing the Son of God?  So many silly human questions regarding this process! I then wonder more about her mind especially  after she recited The Magnificat:

 Luke 1  Mary’s Song of Praise

46 Mary responded,

“Oh, how my soul praises the Lord.
47     How my spirit rejoices in God my Savior!
48 For he took notice of his lowly servant girl,
    and from now on all generations will call me blessed.
49 For the Mighty One is holy,
    and he has done great things for me.
50 He shows mercy from generation to generation
    to all who fear him.
51 His mighty arm has done tremendous things!
    He has scattered the proud and haughty ones.
52 He has brought down princes from their thrones
    and exalted the humble.
53 He has filled the hungry with good things
    and sent the rich away with empty hands.
54 He has helped his servant Israel
    and remembered to be merciful.
55 For he made this promise to our ancestors,
    to Abraham and his children forever.”

56 Mary stayed with Elizabeth about three months and then went back to her own home.

Oh how MY soul praises the Lord! As a new mom I found myself pondering about the person my son would grow to become. The man. I pray constantly that I would do nothing to interfere  with my children becoming who God has planned them to be. I think of Mary in that her son was born to save the world. She knew His destiny because prophets testified that He would be THE WAY. Even so, I am sure she marveled each time He fulfilled prophesy before her eyes.

Each of us has a purpose. A task specific to who God created us to be. Up until now I have been in search of who God has created me to be… and I will stay motivated in this, but currently I have been focused on who God wants my children to be. How will they impact the world? How will they make His name famous? What journey lies ahead?

For my Shaney, the beginning of the new year will be the start of a new season for her. We have decided to move forward with the sedated ABR for us to get a complete workup of her hearing loss. This will help us determine if the hearing aids are getting her the amplification she needs. If not, we will move forward with a cochlear implant. We are at peace knowing that God is taking care of our princess and He is guiding our steps through this next phase. PRAYERS APPRECIATED anesthesia has some side effects and my prayer is protection for our girl. Prayers for wisdom for the doctors and technicians who will conduct her test. Prayers for Jameson too.

There is not doubting the magic in the air. The wonder on the faces of our children and it’s more than the big fat man with the long white beard and 8 tiny reindeer. It’s the promise keeper. The prophesies fulfilled. The savior at work. It is so amazing that the scriptures that have pierced my heart and brought new life are now being taught to my children. Jameson shared about what he learned in school regarding baby Jesus and I can’t help but feel like we have come full circle. The little nativity scene I used to fiddle with when I was a child  has an infinitely deeper meaning and is now grazed by the fingertips of my inquisitive little one. I am baffled at how he has grown but in this instance am also surprised at my own growth. The Scriptures never stop. They are full of life giving power and we are to remain forever seeking and growing in them. Forever craving, forever searching – allowing them to pierce us and sealing them on our hearts. Glory to God in the highest!

srt1

#shereadstruth

 

 

 

Leave a comment